Skip to content
Inverclyde Counts — Inverclyde, in numbers.Local help →

Inverclyde, in numbers

People and living standards

Inverclyde council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Inverclyde council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 91,390 in 1991 to 78,550 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Inverclyde council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,060 people in 1996; 78,550 people in 2025. 9.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,390
199290,850
199389,890
199489,320
199588,640
199687,060
199786,460
199885,840
199985,300
200084,660
200184,150
200283,730
200383,300
200482,690
200582,680
200682,320
200782,110
200882,000
200981,670
201081,510
201181,220
201280,990
201380,870
201480,540
201580,340
201680,110
201779,820
201879,350
201979,150
202078,580
202178,390
202278,350
202378,660
202478,740
202578,550
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Inverclyde council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,930 people in 1996; 11,870 people in 2025. 33.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,957
199218,836
199318,691
199418,625
199518,441
199617,930
199717,610
199817,303
199917,083
200016,768
200116,306
200215,918
200315,598
200415,263
200515,143
200614,825
200714,537
200814,271
200914,053
201013,869
201113,674
201213,400
201313,218
201413,082
201512,880
201612,730
201712,564
201812,454
201912,435
202012,238
202112,034
202211,996
202312,083
202412,064
202511,870
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Inverclyde council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,146 people in 1996; 48,063 people in 2025. 12.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199158,143
199257,763
199357,061
199456,599
199556,132
199655,146
199754,854
199854,575
199954,237
200053,919
200153,831
200253,824
200353,649
200453,392
200553,426
200653,290
200753,320
200853,346
200953,050
201052,970
201152,709
201252,371
201352,150
201451,657
201551,414
201651,007
201750,714
201850,199
201949,801
202049,340
202149,039
202248,724
202348,722
202448,495
202548,063
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Inverclyde council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,984 people in 1996; 18,617 people in 2025. 33.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,290
199214,251
199314,138
199414,096
199514,067
199613,984
199713,996
199813,962
199913,980
200013,973
200114,013
200213,988
200314,053
200414,035
200514,111
200614,205
200714,253
200814,383
200914,567
201014,671
201114,837
201215,219
201315,502
201415,801
201516,046
201616,373
201716,542
201816,697
201916,914
202017,002
202117,317
202217,630
202317,855
202418,181
202518,617
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 78,399 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Inverclyde · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total76,33097.4%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 81,485 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Inverclyde · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White80,36898.6%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller80%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group1790.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian2560.3%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1710.2%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi50%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1960.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1200.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1330.2%
Other Ethnic Group490.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 15.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Inverclyde council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,384 per person in 1997; £21,919 per person in 2024. 161.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,384
19988,553
19998,972
20009,574
200110,272
200210,357
200310,668
200411,074
200511,522
200612,031
200712,556
200813,264
200913,577
201013,656
201113,899
201214,346
201314,779
201415,091
201515,922
201616,015
201716,266
201816,665
201917,380
202017,401
202118,390
202219,062
202320,348
202421,919
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Inverclyde council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21% in 1997; -15.6% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Inverclyde council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21
1998-21
1999-20.7
2000-19.6
2001-17
2002-18.1
2003-18.2
2004-18.4
2005-18
2006-17.8
2007-18.2
2008-15.8
2009-15.2
2010-15.4
2011-14.7
2012-15.1
2013-15.6
2014-16.5
2015-16.3
2016-16.8
2017-17.4
2018-18.3
2019-17.5
2020-17.1
2021-15.8
2022-17
2023-16.8
2024-15.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Inverclyde council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Inverclyde council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£115,000

July 2026 · Inverclyde council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.